Past Symposia

  Home   I   Leadership   I   Symposium   I   Legislative Day   I   Food Frenzy


Past Symposia

Friday, October 25, 2013 | UGA School of Law, Rusk Center
Join us in Athens on October 25 for our third-annual GALP Symposium

10:00 am - Symposium Opening

10:15-11:45 am - Georgia's Glass Ceiling: Women in Politics
     • Hon. Lauren Logan Benedict - Macon City Council; Chair, Georgia's WIN List
     • Hon. Jan Jones - Speaker Pro-Tempore, Georgia House of Representatives (R-Milton)
     • Hon. Alisha Thomas Morgan - Georgia House of Representatives (D-Austell)
     • Stacey Chavis (Moderator) - Political Strategist

12:00-12:45 pm - Keynote Lunch
     • Former Governor Roy E. Barnes

1:00-2:30 pm - Georgia's New Juvenile Justice Code
     • Melissa Carter - Executive Director, Barton Child Law & Policy Center 
     • Sharon N. Hill - Founding Executive Director, Georgia Appleseed Center for Law & Justice
     • Hon. Todd Markle - Judge, Superior Court of Fulton County
     • Julia D. Neighbors - Board Member, Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice
     • Hon. Avery D. Niles - Commissioner, Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice
     • Andrea Dennis (Moderator) - Professor, UGA School of Law

2:45-4:15 pm - Georgia's Stalled Federal Judicial Nominations
     • Hon. George W. "Buddy" Darden - Senior Counsel, McKenna Long & Aldridge
     • W. Heath Garrett - Partner, Garret McNatt Hennessy & Carpenter 360
     • Hon. Clay D. Land - U.S. District Court Judge, Middle District of Georgia
     • Richard Vining - Associate Professor, UGA School of Public & International Affairs

4:15-4:30 pm - Closing Remarks


UGA students, faculty, and staff, as well as members of the community, are invited to attend panel discussions free of charge.  State Bar of Georgia members may obtain 4.5 regular Continuing Legal Education credits for a fee of $50.  UGA students, faculty, and staff may attend the keynote lunch free of charge.  Attorneys seeking CLE credit and and all community members (non-UGA student, faculty, or staff) may attend the keynote lunch for a fee of $15.

     • To register for the Symposium, please click here.  
     • Students/Faculty/Staff planning to attend the lunch session only need to check the appropriate checkbox when registering and do not need to purchase a lunch ticket.
     • All other registrants will need to register for panels and the lunch session separately.



October 19, 2012

§  Criminal Justice Reform
     o   Hon. Charles Auslander – Judge, Athens-Clarke County State Court
     o   Sara Totonchi – Executive Director, Southern Center for Human Rights
     o   Hon. Scott Berry – Sheriff, Oconee County, Georgia
     o   Prof. Russell Gabriel (Moderator) – UGA School of Law

§  Ethics in Government
     o   Josh Belinfante – Former Vice Chair, Georgia Government Transparency & Campaign Finance Commission
     o   Hon. Joshua McKoon – Georgia State Senate (R-Columbus)
     o   Patrick Millsaps – Former Chair, Georgia Government Transparency & Campaign Finance Commission
     o   Prof. Lori Ringhand (Moderator) – UGA School of Law

§  Transportation
     o   Chris Carpenter – Former Political Strategist, Statewide T-SPLOST Campaign
     o   Toby Carr – Director, Georgia Transportation Planning
     o   Tom Weyandt, Jr. – Senior Transportation Policy Advisor, City of Atlanta
     o   Dr. Charles Bullock, III (Moderator) – UGA School of Public & International Affairs


October 22, 2011

§  State Judiciary Budget
     o   Hon. John Ellington – Chief Judge, Georgia Court of Appeals
     o   Hon. Carol Hunstein – Chief Justice, Georgia Supreme Court
     o   Hon. Kenneth Mauldin – District Attorney, Western Judicial Circuit
     o   Hon. Lawton Stephens – Chief Judge, Athens-Clarke County Superior Court
     o   Prof. David Shipley (Moderator) – UGA School of Law

§  Georgia Evidence Code
     o   Mike Carlson – Deputy Chief Assistant District Attorney, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit
     o   Hon. Jason Carter – Georgia State Senate (D-Decatur)
     o   Hon. Shawn Ellen LaGrua – Judge, Fulton County Superior Court
     o   Hon. Edward Tarver – U.S. Attorney, Southern District of Georgia
     o   Prof. Stephen Harper (Moderator) – Georgia Institute of Continuing Legal Education

§  Redistricting in Georgia
     o   Hon. Hardie Davis – Georgia State Senate (D-Augusta)
     o   Hon. Mike Jacobs – Georgia House of Representatives (R-Brookhaven)
     o   Anne Lewis – Partner, Strickland Brockington Lewis LLP
     o   Hon. Tommie Williams – President Pro Tempore, Georgia State Senate (R-Lyons)
     o   Dr. Charles Bullock, III (Moderator) – UGA School of Public and International Affairs

§  Immigration Issues
     o   Carolina Antonini – Principal, The Antonini Law Firm
     o   Prof. Neil Kinkopf – Georgia State University College of Law
     o   Hon. Jack Murphy – Georgia State Senate (R-Cumming)
     o   Rusi Patel – Associate General Counsel, Georgia Municipal Association
     o   Sharon Cook Poorak – Partner, Frazier, Soloway & Poorak, P.C.
     o   Teri Simmons (Moderator) – Partner, Arnall Golden Gregory LLP