student argues in courtroom

Mock Trial

Try criminal and civil mock cases as a member of the School of Law's Mock Trial teams. Participants deliver opening statements, conduct witness examinations and present closing arguments in the presence of a judge and jury.

UGA's Mock Trial program receives strong support from faculty members and Mock Trial alumni who dedicate long hours to bench practice rounds, critique student arguments and offer suggestions for improvement. This level of support truly benefits students and helps them to develop the courtroom skills they will need during their legal careers.

Who Can Participate

Membership on the Mock Trial teams is reserved for 2nd and 3rd year law students.

1st year students have the opportunity to participate in the J. Ralph Beaird Closing Argument Competition during the spring semester of their 1st year.

Winning History

School of Law Mock Trial teams have competed and won several prestigious tournaments, including:

National Trial Advocacy Tournament

           Champions- 2014
           Quarterfinalists- 2015

American Association for Justice National Student Trial Advocacy Competition

            Champions- 1997  
            Finalists- 1988              
            Semifinalists- 1986
            Quarterfinalists- 1997, 1998, 2001

            Champions- 1988, 1997(first and second), 1998, 2001, 2002, 2018
            Finalists- 1987, 1998
            Semifinalists- 2000, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2016

Texas Bar Association National Trial Competition (NTC)

            Quarterfinalists- 2009  

            Champions- 1985 , 2006 (two teams), 2008, 2009 (two teams), 2012, 2014
            Finalists- 1990, 1997, 2003, 2015, 2019
            Semifinalists- 1988, 1990, 2002, 2011, 2013, 2016, 2017 (two teams), 2018, 2019

South Texas Mock Trial Challenge (National)

            Champions- 2014, 2017, 2018
            Quarterfinalists- 2012, 2013, 2019
            Octofinalists- 2015, 2016

William W. Daniel National Invitational Mock Trial Competition

            Champions- 2007
            Finalists- 2014
            Semifinalists- 1998, 2006, 2011, 2015

Palmetto State Classic Mock Trial Competition

            Finalists- 2018

For a complete history of Moot Court and Mock Trial wins visit the winning reputation page.

Join Mock Trial

Learn more about the benefits of participation.

Executive Board

  • 2017-2018 Executive Mock Trial Board
    Chair: Ryan Patrick
    Vice Chair: Danielle Glover
    Secretary/Treasurer: Adam Sunstrom
    Closing Argument Directors: Spencer Barrow, Katie Reynolds
    England Competition Directors: Alex Prescott, Gracie Shepherd, Hallie Willis
    Tryout Coordinators: Evan Dunn, Toni Wormald

Related Links