Joseph Henry Lumpkin Society

The School of Law is pleased to honor its annual contributors of $1,000 or more with membership in the Joseph Henry Lumpkin Society and greatly appreciates the commitment of these individuals to the continuous advancement of the quality of the law school. In 2014- 2015, 441 generous alumni and friends were members of the Joseph Henry Lumpkin Society.

Joseph Henry Lumpkin founded the University of Georgia School of Law in 1859, in collaboration with his son-in-law, Thomas R.R. Cobb, and colleague William Hope Hull. Classes were first taught in Lumpkin’s law office at the corner of Prince Avenue and Pulaski Street in downtown Athens at what was then the Lumpkin Law School.

Lumpkin, born in Oglethorpe County in 1799, was a distinguished lawyer and statesman. He graduated from Princeton in 1819, then “read law” under the tutelage of a practicing attorney. Lumpkin was admitted to the Georgia bar in 1820. Four years later, he was elected to a two-year term in the Georgia legislature and, in 1833, he helped frame the state penal code. In 1845, Lumpkin became the first chief justice of the Georgia Supreme Court and served continuously until his death in 1867.

Join the Lumpkin Society and help sustain excellence at your law school. Please make your gift of $1,000 or more to the School of Law by June 30, 2016, and encourage several of your classmates and colleagues to follow your lead. With our 2015-2016 Joseph Henry Lumpkin Society donors, we can safeguard our position among the nation’s finest law schools.

Join the Lumpkin Society