Call For Papers - Second Annual Digital Information Policy Scholars Conference



Event Date: 


Location name: 

Arlington, Virginia


Antonin Scalia Law School at George Mason University

The Program on Economics & Privacy (PEP) at Antonin Scalia Law School, will host a scholars conference on the economics of digital information policy on April 28, 2017. The conference will be open to the public.

The mission of PEP is to promote the sound application of economic analysis to issues surrounding the digital information economy through original research, policy outreach, and education. The annual Digital Information Policy Scholars Conference is intended to further this goal by providing a forum to present original research on this important area of the US economy.

TOPICS: Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
- Consumer valuation of privacy
- The impact of privacy & data security regulation on consumers and firms
- Data security in the payment industry
- Liability issues surrounding the Internet of Things
- The use of big data for consumers scoring
- Big data and price discrimination
- Targeted advertising
- Ad blocking
- The intersection of privacy and competition policy
- Information, privacy, and education policy
- Consumer responses to disclosures
- Privacy and data security issues surrounding biometrics

Selected authors will receive a $250 honorarium and will be provided lodging for the night of April 27, 2017. There will be a dinner for participants on April 27 as well. Selected authors will be responsible for submitting a final version of their paper by April 14, 2017. In addition to presenting their paper, selected authors will be expected to serve as a discussant for one paper at the conference.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: Please send your paper or abstract by February 6, 2017, to Jeff T. Smith, Coordinator of PEP, at Preference will be given to completed papers.

The selection committee includes Alessandro Acquisti (Carnegie Mellon), Jane Bambauer (University of Arizona), James E. Rogers College of Law), Michael Baye (Indiana University, Kelley School of Business), James Cooper (George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School), Bruce Kobayashi (George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School), Andrew Stivers (Federal Trade Commission), Catherine Tucker (MIT, Sloan School of Management), and Liad Wagman (Illinois Institute of Technology). Selections will be made by February 24, 2017.