2015 Awards Day

Ceremony

University of Georgia School of Law Hatton Lovejoy Courtroom April 17, 2015 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. 2015 Awards Day Ceremony University of Georgia School of Law Hatton Lovejoy Courtroom April 17, 2015

Welcome and Presentation of Student Awards Dean Peter B. "Bo" Rutledge Dean & Herman E. Talmadge Chair of Law

Presentation of Faculty Awards

Carey A. Miller Student Bar Association President Sarah A. Richards Class of 2015 President Robert S. Arrington Class of 2015 Vice-President

Order of the Coif Induction (Class of 2014) Lisa Milot

Associate Professor of Law

Closing Remarks

Dean Peter B. "Bo" Rutledge

Reception immediately following on the first floor of the law school.

Constitutional Law I Solesse L. Altman Emily C. Cook Michael A. DelGaudio Carly Sumner Freliche

Constitutional Law II Stephanie Anne Adrean Amanda M. McDowell Cameron B. Roberts/Matthew G. Traut (tie)

> **Corporations** Michael A. DelGaudio Elizabeth A. DeVos Emily N. Evans

Criminal Procedure I Lee A. Deneen Amanda Pennington McBride

Evidence

Thomas E. Buscemi Emily C. Cook Daniel J. Gibbs

Federal Income Tax Solesse L. Altman Emily C. Cook

The Law and Ethics of Lawyering

Michael F. Green, Jr. Hali A. Hill Meghan C. Jones Jordan C. Seal

Trust & Estates I Solesse L. Altman Thomas Powell

CALI Excellence for the Future Awards

Civil Procedures

Spring 2014 Solesse L. Altman Michael A. DelGaudio Michael K. Newman

Fall 2014

Caitlin L. Amick Troy A. Stram Lauren E. Woodyard

Contracts

Solesse L. Altman T. Chase Ogletree Alexander D. Russo

Property

Solesse L. Altman Lee A. Deneen Trevor J. Peck

Torts

Solesse L. Altman Michael A. DelGaudio Phillip J. Skaliy

Legal Research & Writing

Michael A. DelGaudio Lauren F. Gordon David G. McGee Elinore R. Carroll/Jackelyn M. Hamill (tie) Carly S. Freliche/ Sarah H. Newman (tie) Jennifer R. Stakich

Criminal Law

Rachel M. Bishop Roshani H. Chokshi Matthew B. Rosenthal

Outstanding Prosecutorial Clinic Student

Stephanie A. Adrean Lindsey B. Sciavicco (tie)

Outstanding Legal Defense Clinic Student Caroline H. Bradley

Shelley D. Knox Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student Alicia Luncheon

Ellen Jordan Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student Hunter Leigh Jones

Georgia Defense Lawyers Association Willis J. "Dick" Richardson, Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Trial Advocacy T. Peyton Bell

Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Mock Trial Advocate Garrett S. Burrell

Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Moot Court Advocate Amanda M. McDowell

Kerry Harike Joedeke Memorial Award for Excellence Outstanding Moot Court Board Member Mark E. Grafton

> Ronald Carlson Award for Excellence in the Study of Evidence Cameron B. Roberts

Law School Alumni Association Award for Exceptional Diligence and Dedication in the Study of Law 2014 – Adrienne D. Mayfield 2015– Stephany A. Sheriff

Stepha

Solesse L. Altman Michael A. DelGaudio Phillip J. Skaliy

Class of 1933 Torts Law Award

Verner F. Chaffin Award for Excellence in the Study of Fiduciary Law

Solesse L. Altman Thomas Powell

American Bankruptcy Institute Medal Michael C. Sullivan

Julian McDonnell Award for Excellence in the Study of Commercial Law Michael F. Green, Jr.

Donald P. Gilmore, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor & Employment Law Corey J. Goerdt

The American Bar Association Section of Labor and Employment Law & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor and Employment Law Corey J. Goerdt

The American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Intellectual Property Law Sarah M. Kessler

The American Bar Association Health Law Section & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Health Law Mitchell W. O'Hara

William King Meadow Award

T. Peyton Bell

Jesse & Dan MacDougald Memorial Award for First Honor Graduate and Isaac Meinhard Award for Highest Academic Average Bryan W. Lutz

Induction Ceremony of the Class of 2014 Order of the Coif

The Order of the Coif is an honorary scholastic society, the purpose of which is to encourage excellence in legal education by fostering a spirit of careful study, recognizing those who as law students excelled in their studies and honoring those who as lawyers, judges and teachers attained high distinction for their scholarly or professional accomplishments.

> Brian Scott Abrams Anne Horn Baroody Wayne Morris Cartwright II Ellen Rebecca Clarke Melissa Conrad-Alam Joseph Cannon Crumbley Victoria Anne Cuneo Allison Lynn Hill Lindsay Sain Jones Bryan William Lutz **Charles Martin McCranie** Katherine Patricia-Siuta O'Shea Thomas Dixon Powell Margaret Elizabeth Randels Joe Patrick Reynolds James Carrol Roberts Kimberly Nicole Scott Jordan Christopher Seal Steven Leonard Strasberg Koleen Stasia Sullivan Benjamin Williams Thorpe Matthew Gebhardt Traut Dennis O. Vann

2015 Faculty Awards

John C. O'Byrne Memorial Award for Significant Contributions Furthering Student-Faculty Relations Professor Christian Turner

Student Bar Association Professionalism Award

Associate Dean Lonnie T. Brown, Jr.

C. Ronald Ellington Award for Excellence in Teaching Professor Lori A. Ringhand

The State Bar of Georgia Health Law Section Scholarship Ricardo A. Lopez

National Order of Barristers

The Order of Barristers is a national honorary organization whose purpose is the encouragement of oral advocacy and brief writing skills through effective law school oral advocacy programs. The Order seeks to improve these programs through interscholastic sharing of ideas, information and resources. The Order also provides national recognition for individuals who have excelled in advocacy and service at their respective schools and for successful participation in regional, national and international interscholastic advocacy competitions.

Order of the Barristers

Joshua H. Dorminy Candace D. Farmer Whitney T. Judson Xon R. Hostetter M. Laughlin Kane Alicia N. Luncheon George S. Ray W. Alexander Smith (Alex) Nicolas M. Stanojevich Andrew M. Whittaker The Atlanta Bar Association Section of Alternative Dispute Resolution Award Andy Shin

The Georgia Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Custer-Tuggle Award for Excellence in Family Law Daniel Gibbs

> Attorneys' Title Guaranty Fund Award for Excellence in the Study of Real Estate Law Hunter B. Carpenter

State Bar of Georgia Real Property Section Award Elizabeth H. Verner

The State Bar of Georgia Environmental Law Section Award Elinore R. Carroll

State Bar of Georgia Tax Section Outstanding Student Award Benjamin Newell

John C. O'Byrne Award for Excellence in the Study of Taxation Philip J. Wilkie, Jr.

Georgia Association for Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award Haley E. Chafin

National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award Whitney Taylor Judson